Grants Awarded 2016-2017

Each fall, all employees with Bonham Independent School District are invited to submit a grant request to the Bonham Education Foundation for special projects or needs to benefit their students.  The Board reviews all grant proposals and selects the winners.

The board was pleased to award 9 grants totaling $5,474 during the 2016-2017 school year.

  • $1000 to Finley-Oates Elementary for Nessy Reading
  • $324 to Finley-Oates for Kindergarten Museum Field Trip-Harber
  • $500 to I W Evans for 4th Grade Field Trip-Rough Rider’s trip
  • $150 for I W Evans for Brave Girls, 4-6 grade
  • $1000 for L H Rather Junior High for Engaging History Lessons
  • $500 for L H Rather Junior High for Building Better Readers
  • $500 for LHR Band Tuners
  • $1000 for BHS Math for Algebraic Reasoning; TI 84+ Graphing Calculators
  • $500 for BHS Band for Better Sound through Individual Tuning

Grants Awarded for 2015-2016

The Bonham Education Foundation is pleased to announce that 11 grants totaling $5,000 have been awarded for the 2015-2016 school year for academic enrichment.  The funded projects include:

  • $587 to Bailey-Inglish for Tricycles for Trike Path
  • $275 towards Kindergarten Field Trips (Finley Oates)
  • $500 toward First Grade Field Trip to Stephen Fite Concert (Finley Oates)
  • $500 towards Second Grade Field Trip to go see a theatrical production of Beauty and the Beast (Finley Oates)
  • $500 towards the Third Grade Field Trip to learn about the solar system (Finley Oates)
  • $327 for Smart Music for band students in Seventh and Eighth Grade (LH Rather Junior High)
  • $150 for supplies for the Lifeskills Pillow Project (Special Education – LH Rather Junior High)
  • $946 for shop class equipment (LH Rather Junior High)
  • $215 towards AP exam fees for Calculus and Statistics (Bonham High School)
  • $1000 for acoustic panels for the Kiva to improve sound quality for the theater department (Bonham High School)

2015 Texas Scholars

Congratulations to the 2015 Texas Scholars at Bonham High School.  The Bonham Education Foundation was pleased to be able to honor the Seniors who earned Texas Scholars recognition at a special luncheon in their honor and present them each a medal to wear during their graduation ceremony.

2015 Texas Scholars:
Cheyenne Abbott
Alexis Anderson
Edna Cruz Mata
Breanna Cryst
Madeline Dolberry
Allison Foster
Eliud Gonzalez
Marco Hernandez
Kasi Holcomb-Webb
Kaylie Knipe
Daniel Loredo Galicia
Jacy Martin
Karli McKelva
Hannah Monroe
Jae Park
Logan Rattan
Audra Romans
Angelica Smith
Clay Stephens
Kelsey Watkins
Madeline Wells


Academic Excellence 2014

On November 17, 2014, the Bonham Education Foundation was pleased to award Academic Excellence Awards to students at Bonham High School who maintained a 4.0 grade point average for the previous year.

Congratulations to the following students:

Class of 2015

Abbott, Jennifer
Adams, Colton
Anderson, Alexis
Book, Tyler
Butcher, Nathan
Cruz Mata, Edna
Cryst, Breanna
Dennis, Savannah
Dolberry, Madeline
Foster, Allison
Garcia Renteria, Ana
Gonzalez, Eliud
Griffis, Raymond
Griggs, Daccheous
Guymon, Jacquelyn
Hernandez, Marco
Hill, Caleb
Holcomb-Webb, Kasi
Hoops, Andrew
Jenkins, Monica
Keenan, Steven
Kennedy, Kendall
Knipe, Kayli
Kurus, Nicholas
Lappin, Alexis
Longoria Martinez, Aide
Loredo Galicia, Daniel
Manis, Kenton
Martin, Jacy
McDonald, Troy
McKelvi, Karli
Monroe, Hannah
Nichols, Sidney
Park, Jae
Parsons, Ty
Porter, Madison
Prado, Betsy
Prock, Jared
Rattan, Logan
Roberts, Anthony
Romans, Audra
Sewell III, Kenneth
Smith, Angelica
Solano Salas, Jorge
Steele, Catlin
Stephens, Clay
Voorheis, Nicholas
Watkins, Kelsey
Wells, Madeline
Wood, Chelsea

Class of 2016

Aguilera, Angel
Babers, Monty
Besch, Alexis
Campbell, Rachel
Carter, Alexandra
Clark, Jimmy
Coldiron, Ty
Colley, Brian
Compton, Jerika
Copeland, Kyle
Davidson, Trevor
Delgado Martinez, Miriam
Edwards, Amanda
Edwards, Megan
Felmet, Haley
Fields, Joseph
Fulmer, Hannah
Galarza, Loraina
Hernandez, Brittania
Hill, Khanezia
Hubenthal, Nicholas
Ibarra Cruz, Sandra
Kissling, Tad
Kissling, Tyce
Lancaster, Carmen
Longoria Cardoza, Jose
Martinez, Airam
McRae, Jesse
Miller, Amber
Nichols, Karen
Orsak, Alexis
Porter, Erika
Porter, Katy
Ramirez, Ashley
Sewell, Deris
Smallwood, Corey
Williamson, David
Wilson, Austin
Woodruff, Ashley
Wynters, Draven

Class of 2017

Aranday, Denise
Bewley, Melissa
Buckaloo, Trevor
Cary, Brooke
Chaghani, Anwar Ali
Davis, Romare
Dobbels, Carleigh
Dunigan, Jessie
Easley, Joshua
Escalante Renteria, Atziri
Givens, Asia
Hartwell, Corey
Johnson, Grace
Jordan, Clairee
Kirkpatrick, Logan
Lane, Amy
Lappin, Madalyn
Leftrick, Megan
Lemus Martinez, Estela
Martinez, Silvia
McDonald, Evan
Miller, Brandon
Nichols, Brady
Owens, Thomas
Peeler, Jett
Pratt, Shelby
Rodriguez, Francisco
Sacco, Madison
Sewell, Sidney
Simmerman, Austin
Speck, Alayna
Sulley, Kaylen
Torres, Pedro
Trompler, Kade
Watkins, Ashley
Wilson, Evan

Grants Awarded for 2014-2015

The Bonham Education Foundation is pleased to award funding for eight academic enrichment grants, totaling $4,990 for the 2014-2015 school year.  The funded projects included:

  • $146 to Finley Oates second grade for Nature Day
  • $422 to Bailey Inglish for Science Day Camp
  • $500 to Finley Oates second grade to attend Seussical the Musical at Denison High School
  • $981 to Bonham High School English Department for Independent Reading program for 9th and 11th grades
  • $598 to Bonham High School Trails program for Unique Learning Systems
  • $355 to Finley Oates Kindergarten for a field trip to see the play Cinderella performed at Grayson County College
  • $1000 to Finley Oates Elementary for a first grade field trip to the Elves Farm Pumpkin Patch
  • $988 to IW Evans Science Dept for Eye in the Sky Telescope

2014-2015 Grant Application

The Bonham Education Foundation is seeking grant applications from employees at Bonham ISD.  Grants of up to $1,000 wll be awarded for innovative projects or programs designed to enhance the academic experience of Bonham students.  The grants application is a competitive one and applicants are encouraged to read the application directions carefully.

Turn in completed applications to:

Bonham Educational Foundation Grants
c/o Steve Mohundro
1400 West Russell
Bonham, TX 75418
Or email to:

Application Deadline is September 30, 2014

Download the application: BEF grant application, 2014-15

Seeking New Board Members

The Bonham Education Foundation is seeking additional board members.  Currently, we have only five board members.  If you are interested in supporting excellence in education at Bonham ISD, then contact one of our board members or come to our next meeting.  We will meet at 5 pm on Monday, Sept 8 at McClanahan & Holmes offices at 1400 W Russell in Bonham.  Current board members include President Jan Woodruff, Treasurer Steven Mohundro and members Monica Kissling, Sophia Dyson and Sandy Barber.